WHAT IS I18n? TEXT OUTPUTTING AND TRANSLATION __() _x() _e() etc…etc..

What is I18n?

Why internationalization is important?

SOURCE: http://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/_x

WORDPRESS FORUM SOME SAYS:

I think I have the answer for the first two:
__() and _e() are functionally the same; they translate whatever text is in the parentheses. __() returns the translated text, whereas _e() echoes the translated text out.

What does _x() do? Are there more? I think I saw someone reference _c() but I haven’t seen it used anywhere yet.

Thanks for the help!

Looks like the only special thing about _x() is that it lets you provide a context for the untranslated string–I guess in circumstances where a word might translate differently in different contexts.

This entry was posted in WORDPRESS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

